louise brightsky

Things that bring light into my life and keep away the dark clouds

Take 2 – River Tay, Stanley to Thistlebrig (05/10/14)

Leave a comment

After the last trip I jumped at the chance to do it all over again. This time there were only 4 of us, the coach, another girl who has been paddling for a couple of years and a man who has done a bit of sea kayaking but this was his first time on the river. I was no longer the newbie.

The weather for this time of year is actually quite good but a few degrees colder than a few weeks ago and was quite overcast. The temperature of the water was my main worry this time round as I had no doubt I would be swimming at some point along the way.

We put in at Stanley where we paddled around the put in to warm up, practiced on the eddy then did a ferry glide to the island. Again like last time I struggled to get into the flow and ended up paddling quite a bit up where the water was rougher and had to let the kayak float back down a bit, I think I may have started too far out and next time will come in closer before I put the angle on and see if that helps. We then practiced peeling out of the eddy and back in.  Again my angles were off and I was being a bit timid getting into the flow and ended up going the wrong way but got it right on the second go.

There was another eddy at the end of the island where the water from both sides met and there were few rocks which created eddy lines going in different directions. We spent some time going over these eddy’s to see what way we needed to edge depending of where we wanted to be.

Then it was a portage up the island to get to Campsie Linn. The water was shallow at the top of the island and the water was flowing fast towards us from the Linn.  I had trouble getting the paddle in enough water to pull me though and kept on getting pushed back towards the island I was getting stuck on rocks and I was left behind as the others were way ahead.

Next it was time to tackle the Linn. We got out to have a look and see what the water was doing as it was coming over the Linn. The coach explained it a bit and we could all see that the easiest line was slightly to the left as the water on the right was a bit rougher. However, when it was my turn to go down I realised as I approached that I was further over to the right than I should be. I told myself I could do it and started paddling and bracing and got through without a problem. When I was in the calmer water at the other end I acknowledge to the coach I was ok and he turned round to signal to the next person to go. I don’t know what happened, whether I was too tense or too relaxed but the next thing I knew I was upside down and so was the person coming down the Linn. I did the wet escape and singled to the coach I was ok and he went to assist the other person who was further out than I was. I had kept hold of my paddle and kayak at first making way to the edge of the river but it’s hard to get anywhere fast with your hands full and the boat slipped my grip but by this time the others were near and retrieved it for me.

After we both recovered we headed for lunch.

Raring to go again we set off on a gentle paddle to the next obstacle, Stanley Weir. The coach explained what we needed to do and headed off first followed by the other more experienced paddler so they were at the other end to help with a rescue,  if needed, for us with less experience. When the signal came I let the other man go first but halfway through the wave trail he went under. I waited as instructed where I was until the other paddler was safe and the coach made his way back up to me.

I followed the coach through the weir and the wave trail no problem and the others joined in behind us as we passed and headed straight down towards Hell Hole Corner. Again like last time I made it through following the coaches line but coming out at the end into calmer water I went under. This time however I knew it was happening before I actually went under and had time to react but for some reason my mind went blank and I sat there still whilst I felt the kayak roll over. Had my brain worked I could have prevented this one.

Next was the bumpy water down past Stanley Mill towards the Thislebrig Rapid. This was no problem, again I was following behind the coach and watching where he was going and I got through this. With the put out in sight however transitioning onto the calmer water the kayak started to spin round so I was facing backwards downstream. In hindsight I should have let the kayak turn but I fought against it and flipped myself over.

Like last time I had 3 swims on this trip but I think I have a bit more understanding about what’s gone wrong so I can try to rectify next time. I’m sure however I will be upside down again at some point and I can’t wait to learn to roll. The pool sessions start soon.

Being tired the coach pulled the kayaks up the first steep embankment but after that it was over to us and I have to say it took every last bit of energy out of me but I managed up all the stairs carrying the kayak by myself. This is an achievement in itself.

Leave a comment